State Horseshoe Tournament Held in Pierre



PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota State Horseshoe tournament was held last weekend in Pierre at the Griffin Park Horseshoe Pits.  The doubles competition was held on Saturday where Jane and Jeffrey Haufshield of Lake Norden won the Class A division finishing ahead of runners up Carlene Barber of Pierre and Carl Chambers of Blunt.  The Class B division was won by the Belle Fourche team of Julie Kluck and Thebea Thomas.  And Jack Orwick of Newell and Sheldon Struble of Belle Fourche were winners of the C Division tournament.  Sunday was singles day at the State tournament where Lily Whaley of Sioux Falls was the champion of the Cadets A Division.  Macy Chambers of Blunt won the Juniors Class A division.  Mason Pickett of Vermillion won the Juniors B division.  In the Elders Divisions, Roland Kleinschmidt of Harrold won the A Division.  Carl Chambers edged out Ron Purkapile of Pierre for the B division title whle Harlan Paulsen of Salem won the C division title.  In the Ladies Class A division, Julie Kluck of Belle Fourche was the top thrower while Thebea Thomas of Belle Fourche won the B division crown.  In the Men’s divisions, the Class A title was won by Milton Renville of Lake City.  The B division champion is Jeremy Crowe of Yankton while the Class C division winner was Jerry Henwood of Spearfish.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment