South Dakota Winter Coach of the Year Awards Named



SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The South Dakota High School Coaches Association announced the Coach of the Year Awards for the Winter of 2017 on Friday.  Winning Coach of the Year Awards were Melissa Strong, Dakota Valley in Dance, Steve Cogley of Aberdeen Central in Soccer.  Justin Olson, Yankton is the Gymnastics Coach of the Year while the Wrestling Coach of the Year is Matt Donnelly of Kadoka Area/Philip/Wall.  Mark Senftner of State Class B State Champion Sully Buttes is the Girls Basketball Coach of the Year while Scott Schultz, Bridgewater-Emery earned the award for Boys Basketball.  The Athletic Director of the Year is Clay Anderson of Belle Fourche and the Official of the Year is Mark Wendelgass of Huron.  The coaches will be recognized at the annual awards banquet to be held at the Highland Conference Center in Mitchell on Tuesday, July 11, 2017 in conjunction with the summer coaches’ clinic.

2017 COTY AP Winter

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.