Class A All State Volleyball Team Named

YANKTON, S.D. – Miller’s Kadye Fernholz was the lone repeat first-team selection as the South Dakota Volleyball Coaches Association announced its Class A All-State Team for 2018. After Fernholz, a 6-1 junior middle hitter, the first team was decidedly smaller, with only one other player taller than 5-9. The other five first-team honorees — seniors McKenna Kranz of McCook Central-Montrose, Grace Leberman of Parker, Faith Tyler of Wagner and Kylee Van Egdom of Sioux Falls Christian, and junior Morgan Hammerbeck of Winner — all play outside hitter. The second team included senior setters Sioux Falls Christian Samantha Fykstra and Elk Point-Jefferson setter Karly Marx, senior liberos Beresford Alana Bergland and Groton Area Payton Maine, junior middle hitter Carlie Corder of Elk Point-Jefferson and junior outside hitter VonnaGail Schlechter of Miller. The honorable mention list included senior setters Hannah Even of Parker, Leslie Fillipi of Lennox and Erika Langloss of Tri-Valley, senior outside hitters Jami Ewart of Aberdeen Roncalli (RH/OH) and Alex Kandolin of St. Thomas More, and junior middle hitter Caitlyn Pruis of Sioux Falls Christian.