Football Picture-Govs

State Champion Gov Football Honored by Pierre School Board

  PIERRE, S.D. – The State Class 11AA Football Champion Pierre Governor football team was honored once again last night at the monthley Pierre School Board meeting. Head Coach Jason Poppinga and 4 senior members of the Governor team this year were at the school board meeting. Coach Poppinga said this year’s seniors have...
Keep Reading »
Generic Sports Logo

9 To Be Inducted Into South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame

  SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Ted Kessinger and Mel Tjeerdsma, two of the nation’s greatest small-college football coaches, are among nine people selected for induction into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame. Also chosen were three former South Dakota State athletes: Jay Dirksen, Herb Bartling and Arnold “Nig” Johnson. Other honorees are football...
Keep Reading »
Runner Logo

South Dakotan Named High School Cross Country All American

  SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Yankton senior Annie Kruse has been named a NHSACA All-American by the South Dakota Cross Country and Track Coaches Association. Kruse was the Class AA girls’ champions at the 2013 South Dakota State Meet. Tamara Gorman, who finished second was also honored. Girls’ honorable mention All-American honors went to...
Keep Reading »

White River Picked as Number 1 Class B Team Again

  SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (AP) – Here is a look at the first South Dakota Sportswriters Association’s boys’ high school basketball poll. Teams are listed with first place votes in parentheses and points. Class AA 1. Sioux Falls Lincoln (5) 41 2. Huron (3) 38 3. Sioux Falls Roosevelt (1) 24 4. Brandon Valley...
Keep Reading »