South Dakota’s DPS Secretary Selected as CSG Toll Fellow

Department of Public Safety Logo


LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY – (DRG News) South Dakota’s Secretary for the Department of Public Safety-Trevor Jones-is one of almost 50 policymakers from across the country chosen as a Council of State Governments’ Henry Toll Fellow for the Class of 2014.  This year’s class is made up of people from 35 states and Puerto Rico.  35 of the members of the upcoming class serve in the legislative branch, four in the judiciary and nine members work in executive branches.  The 2014 class was chosen from a nine-member committee of state leaders.  The group reviewed a record number of applications before making its selections.  The Toll Fellowship Program is named for CSG founder Henry Wolcott Toll and is considered one of the nation’s premier leadership development programs for state government officials.  Each year, a new group of program class members travel to Lexington, Kentucky for what is called an intensive six-day, five-night “intellectual boot camp”.  Jones says in a press briefing on the program that he applied expecting that on completion, he will have a broader base of knowledge and experience to work from.  Jones believes his attendance at Toll Fellows will help the residents of South Dakota long after the program is over.  This year’s program is scheduled for next month-September 5-10 in Lexington.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.