Three New SD Communities Added to Dakota Resources Home Address Rural Housing Program

Keys to Home


UNDATED – (DRG News) Three South Dakota communities have been added as new sites in the Dakota Resources Home Address rural housing program.  Mobridge, DeSmet and Lemmon have been named for the 2014-2015 cycle, joining the Martin/Lacreek District, Miller, Faulkton and Wagner.

Home Address Program Manager and Coach Mike Knutson says in a release that the goal of the plan is to develop a housing plan for each community.   He says small South Dakota communities are often unsure of how to deal with housing issues and says every community has unique circumstances and opportunities.

Home Address coaches will meet with community Coordinators and Initative Teams from the three newly named towns each month through November of 2015.  Michele Harrison and Haden Merkel serve as co-coordinators in Mobridge, along with Rita Anderson in DeSmet and Cathy Evans in Lemmon.

Knutson says Home Address helps develop housing capacity in a community and an ability to continue to address housing needs after the program ends.  He says Home Address communities like Lemmon, Mobridge and DeSmet are eager to invest in their own futures.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.