Lockhart Does Well at Mandan Rodeo

Rodeo Logo


MANDAN, N.D. – Lisa Lockhart of Oelrichs has been having a great year in professional rodeo, despite a setback that could have ended her hopes of winning her first world championship. She leads for the 2015 world championship, even though her outstanding buckskin horse “Louie” was injured during the spring rodeo circuit and will be out of action for the rest of the year. Lockhart’s backup horse has been filling in admirably and carried her into the Ryan Dodge Winner’s Circle in the Wednesday night performance of the 135th Mandan Rodeo Days Celebration with a time of 15.69 seconds. With only 20 of the 126 barrel racers left to compete, Lockhart is in position to add to her world championship standings.

Leaders following the first performance of the 135th Mandan Rodeo Days in Mandan, N.D., July 2, 2014.

Bareback bronc riding: 1. (tie) Heath Ford, Slocum, Texas, on Winter Count; Thomas Kronberg, Forbes, N.D., on Blue Sugar and Joe Gunderson, on Bartender. 4. Zachariah Phillips, Casper, Wyo., 79.

Steer wrestling: 1. Tyler Thorson, Towner, N.D., 3.9 seconds. 2. Del Day, Bismarck, N.D., 4.0. 3. Brett Gumb, Burwell, Neb., 4.1. 4. Tee Burress, Piedmont, S.D., 4.3.

Tie-down Roping: 1. Cole Robinson of Moorcroft, Wyo., 7.9 seconds. 2. Jon Peek, Williston, N.D., 8.8. 3. (tie) Timber Moore, Aubrey, Texas, and Michael Otero, Lowndesboro, Ala., 9.7.

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1. Jade Blackwell, Rapid City, S.D., 83 points on Dakota Rodeo’s Gun Slinger. 2. Dalton Rixen, Richardton, N.D., 80. 3. Kaden Deal, Cheyenne River, S.D., 79. 4. Jeremy Meeks, Belle Fourche, S.D., 76.

Team Roping: 1. Scott White of Oelrichs, S.D., and Justin Johnson, Casper, Wyo., 5.0 seconds. 2. (tie) Tyrell Moody, Letcher, S.D., and Rory Brown, Edgemont, S.D., and Garrett Tonozzi, Fruita, Colo., and Jared Bilby, Bridgeport, Neb., 5.2 seconds. 4. (tie) Brady Wakefield, O’Neill, Neb., and Ty Talsma, Verdigre, Neb., and Drew Gartner, Killdeer, S.D., and Paul Griemsman, Piedmont, S.D., 5.5.

Barrel Racing: 1. Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 15.69 seconds. 2. (tie) Kassidy Lantis, Spearfish, S.D., and Desirae Weigel, Bismarck, N.D., 15.62 each. 4. Jessica Leach, Rockwell, Neb., 15.67.

Bull Riding: (two qualified rides) 1. Garrett Vig, Newell, S.D., 84 points on Dakota Rodeo’s Slim. 2. Jeff Bertus, Avon, S.D., 69.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of DakotaRadioGroup.com are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by DakotaRadioGroup.com.

Comments are closed.