Primary Main Race for 11 Seats in SD Legislature



PIERRE, S.D. (AP) – For some candidates running for the South Dakota Legislature, the primary is the only competitive race on the road to state office.

Eleven seats have competition within one party and will not be contested by an opposing party. Seven of those are Republican.

The districts around Sturgis and Gettysburg have the most competition, with five Republicans running for two nominations in each district.

The primary election will take place Tuesday, June 3. Primaries will be held in districts in which a political party had more than one Senate candidate or more than two House candidates. Many ballots will include local elections as well.

Each of South Dakota’s 35 legislative districts elects one senator and two at-large representatives, except in two areas where Senate districts are split into two House districts.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.