GMMS Teacher Named as Pierre District Teacher of the Year for 2014



PIERRE, S.D. – (DRG News) A middle school teacher in the Pierre School District was named yesterday as the Teacher of the Year for 2014. Ann Noyes of Georgia Morse Middle School was chosen as the winner of the award and her name was announced at last night’s monthly school board meeting. Superintendent Kelly Glodt was to tell middle school students and staff of Noyes’ honor this morning. Noyes teaches 7th grade Math at the school and was nominated for the award by Troy Wiebe. Glodt says Noyes has been in the running for the award in previous years and is a good choice to receive it.

Noyes was to receive a Certificate of Recognition this morning and a packet of information to apply for the Regional Teacher of the Year award. Others nominated by their peers for consideration of the District Teacher of the Year were Riggs High School teachers Bruce Venner and Leanne Schlekeway; Roger Edwards of Georgia Morse Middle School, Abby Gilkerson of McKinley Elementary and Paula Weeldreyer of Jefferson Elementary.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment