9 To Be Inducted Into South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame

Generic Sports Logo



SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Ted Kessinger and Mel Tjeerdsma, two of the nation’s greatest small-college football coaches, are among nine people selected for induction into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame. Also chosen were three former South Dakota State athletes: Jay Dirksen, Herb Bartling and Arnold “Nig” Johnson. Other honorees are football player Dick Callahan, basketball player Jack Theeler, baseball player Doug Stanford and softball pitcher Paul Ferrie. The nine will be inducted at a banquet April 12 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center. Ticket information will be released at a later date. With this class of inductees, the hall will boast a membership of 245. Kessinger lives in Lindsborg, Kan.; Tjeerdsma in Maryville, Mo.; Dirksen in Hot Springs Village, Ark.; Bartling in San Antonio, Texas; Johnson in Cottage Grove, Minn.; Callahan in Denver; Theeler in Mitchell; and Stanford in Deadwood. Ferrie is being honored posthumously.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of DakotaRadioGroup.com are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by DakotaRadioGroup.com.

Leave a Comment