SD Teacher of the Year to be Announced Thursday

Apples and Chalkboard


PIERRE, S.D. (AP) – The South Dakota teacher of the year will be announced Thursday at a state education conference.

The teacher of the year will be selected from five finalists who have already been chosen to represent different areas of the state because of their outstanding work.

This year’s finalists are Mindy Foltz of the Rosholt School District, Donna DeKraai of the Brookings School District, Sonya Fossum of the Mitchell School District, LuAnn Lindskov of the Timber Lake School District and Tammy Jo Schlechter of the Custer School District.

South Dakota’s new teacher of the year will go on to compete for the title of national teacher of the year, with that award to be announced next April.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment