First High School Preseason Football Poll Released

Football Field Turf



PIERRE, S.D. – This year Dakota Radio Group Sports Director Rod Fisher is one of 16 Sport Directors statewide who will cast votes for the weekly KSFY-KWSN High School Football Poll. The poll will be one of three cast each week over the course of the season of which Rod votes in two of the three.  The Pre Season poll was unveiled on Saturday night and here it is along with comments from Dan Genzler, contributer to the Pigskin Preview High School Football publication.


1 – Sioux Falls Roosevelt, 76 (12)

2 – Sioux Falls Lincoln, 55 (2)

3 – Sioux Falls Washington, 51 (2)

4 – Sioux Falls O’Gorman, 29

5 – Brandon Valley, 27

Others Receiving Votes

Rapid City Central

, 2

Blog Notes ~ Sioux Falls Washington owns a 12-game winning streak and is the defending champion. The Warriors who will try and win a 40th championship (mythical or playoff) have made six straight championship appearances in 11AA, winning 47 of its past 50 games. They own three playoff championships. SF O’Gorman has won eight playoff titles and appeared in a state-record 14 championship game, all in 11AA. Preseason #1 Roosevelt, which received 12-of-16 first-place votes, are 87-21 overall and 21-6 in the playoffs since 2004, including three titles and six double-digit win seasons.


1 – Yankton, 76 (12)

2 – Pierre, 63 (4)

3 – Brookings, 27

4 – Harrisburg, 25

5 – Watertown, 22.5

Others Receiving Votes


14.5; Huron, 9; Mitchell, 3

Blog Notes ~ Yankton, which received 12 first-place ballots, have 15 mythical or playoff championships and have made 11 title game appearances in 11AA. Harrisburg, which has moved up from 11A, has won three state titles and appeared in eight title games in either 11B or 11A.


1 – Dell Rapids, 70 (9)

2 – West Central, 65 (5)

3 – Hot Springs, 40

4 – Tea Area, 33

5 – Madison, 30

Others Receiving Votes

Dakota Valley

, 1; Vermillion, 1

Blog Notes


Dell Rapids, which has won three consecutive 11A titles and four in the past five seasons, owns a 34-2 (12-0 in the playoffs) in the past three seasons. The Quarriers, which has a 12-game winning streak, will try and become the second 11A school (West Central) and just the third school (West Central in 11-man, Freeman in 9-man) overall to win four straight championships. West Central, which owns 11 11A titles and has made 13 title game appearances, owns a state record six straight titles from 2000-05.



1 – Aberdeen Roncalli, 63 (6)

2 – Winner, 52 (5)

3 – Tri-Valley, 46 (4)

4 – Parkston, 32 (1)

5 – St. Thomas More, 17

Others Receiving Votes


14; Wagner, 13; Flandreau, 3

Blog Notes~ #1 Aberdeen Roncalli is 79-17 and 18-7 in the playoffs since 2004, a span of nine years when they have recorded a South Dakota-best 46 shutouts. Winner, which heads into the season with a 12-game winning streak, has made 12 championship appearances and won five championships. In four of the past five seasons Winner has recorded at least 10 wins, earning two titles and reaching the semifinals every year.


the past six years, Tri-Valley has made five title game appearances. The Mustangs, which has four double-digit win seasons since 2009, have won championships in 2007, 2008 and 2011. St. Thomas More has compiled an impressive 84-18 record since 2004, including five 10-win or better seasons.


1 – Gregory, 68 (6)

2 – Deubrook, 65 (9)

3 – Clark-Willow Lake, 31

4 – Arlington, 25

5 – Garretson, 22 (1)

Others Receiving Votes


, 10; Deuel, 9; Menno-Marion, 3; White River, 2

Blog Notes ~ #1 Gregory has made eight championship game appearances in the playoff era, winning the 1998 title. They have been in the playoffs in eight of the last nine seasons. Deubrook, which brings a 12-game winning streak into the season, won the school’s first ever title in 2012. Tbe Dolphins, 27-6 over the past three years, earned the most first-place ballots but sit just behind Gregory. #5 Garretson earned a top-five preseason ranking as they transition back to a nine-man program from 11B.


1 – Colome, 68 (7)

2 – Herreid/Selby, 57 (6)

3 – Howard, 33 (2)

4 – Potter County, 31 (1)

5 – Wolsey-Wessington, 22

Others Receiving Votes


, 6; Leola-Frederick, 8; Viborg-Hurley, 5; Tri-State, 3

Blog Notes ~ #1 Colome, which has two 9B titles and six championship game appearances, has moved up from 9B after advancing the state title game in 2012. Howard, which is one of the few schools to win both an 11-man (2004) and 9-man championship (2009), reached the 9AA title game a year ago but has moved down to 9A. Potter County has yet to win a championship but has made seven 9-man championship games. Wolsey-Wessington features Ryne Johnson, who is the only back in South Dakota with consecutive 1,000-yard seasons.


1 – Canistota, 60 (11)

1 – Harding County, 59 (4)

3 – Hamlin, 43 (1)

4 – Castlewood, 28

5 – Avon, 23

Others Receiving Votes


, 13; Faith, 11; Faulkton Area, 2; Wall, 1

Blog Notes ~ Something has to give in 9B. Canistota, which has won three straight titles including two straight 9A crowns, has a 36-game winning streak. The Hawks, which won the 2010 9B crown, are seeking a fourth straight title and the all-time wins mark of Freeman (46 games), the only 9-man program to win four consecutive titles (1996-99). Harding County, which has 12 straight wins, is the defending 9B champ and has two overall titles along with six total championship game appearances. Meanwhile, Avon, which has won four 9-man titles and appeared in seven state title games, has had six double-digit win seasons since 2004.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment