SD Football Coaches Association Announce Asst. Coach of the Year Winners




WATERTOWN, S.D. – The South Dakota Football Coaches Association will be handing out awards at halftime of the South Dakota All Star Football game in Aberdeen on Wednesday, July 17th.  Two of the recipents have Pierre ties.  Former Governor head coach Bruce Bresee will be recieving a 30 year award and former Governor All ESD and All State linebacker Justin Briese, who coaches at Aberdeen Roncalli, will be given the Class 11B Assistant Coach of the Year award.  Bresee was head coach of the Governor football program for two years in  1994 and 95 and Briese was a two year starter for the Governors of head coach Chad Gusso in 1997 and 98.  Other Assistant coach of the year award winners are Josh Page of Harding in Class 9B.  Derek Barrios of Arlington in Class 9A.  Deubrook Area’s Mick Thompson in 9AA.  Levi Klappenstien of Hot Springs in 11A and Dan Mitchell of Yankton in 11AA.  The Junior High Coach of the Year for levels 8th grade and lower is Terry Nelson of Britton-Hecla.  Nelson is also a recipient of a 30 year coaching award from the Asscociation.   Other 30 year award recipients along with Bresee are Terry Jastrom of Sioux Falls Roosevelt and Tom Lee of Waubay-Summit.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment