Statue Unveiling Ceremony to be Held Today for Trail of Governor’s Project

Trail of Governors Logo


PIERRE, S.D. – (DRG News) Statues that honor South Dakota Governors Frank Farrar, Harvey Wollman and Bill Janklow will be unveiled at the Capitol Rotunda this afternoon as part of the Trail of Governor’s project.  Today’s ceremony will give the public a first look at the life sized bronze statues of the state’s 24th, 26th and 27th/30th governors.  Governor Dennis Daugaard will take part in the ceremony, along with every living former governor-Governors Farrar, Wollman, Walter Dale Miller and M. Michael Rounds.  The statues will be added to the trail that covers areas around the state capitol grounds and through downtown Pierre.  Three statues were completed last year and two have been put at prominent locations in Pierre-Governor Harlan Bushfield and Governor Walter Miller.  Governor Arthur Mellette’s statue will soon be placed in an alcove being created in front of the Hughes County Courthouse.   Rick Jensen, President of the Trail of Governor’s Foundation, says each statue is funded by individual or business donations and three statues will be erected each year through at least 2022.  Today’s ceremony at the capitol begins at 1:00 p.m.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment