Class AA All State Basketball Team Headed up by Pierre Duo




PIERRE, S.D. (AP) – The driving force behind the Pierre Governor State Tournament championship run have been named to the first team All State Class AA Boys Basketball team today by the South Dakota Coaches Association and South Dakota Sportswriters Association.  Lane Severyn and Zach Hanson were both 4 year members of the Governor varsity and 3 year starters.  Severyn ended his Governor career as the all time leading scorer in Governor basketball history scoring 1486 points and the schools all time leading rebounder with 658.  Hanson was second on the Governor All Time scoring list scoring 1362 points and the 2nd all time leader in rebounding in Governor basketball history with 654.  This year, Severyn averaged 21 points and 6 rebounds per game while Hanson averaged 20 points and 9 rebounds per game as Pierre won it’s first state high school basketball championship since 1982.   The Pierre duo is joined by Brandon Valley’s Chase Marso, Watertown’s Tanner Heiser, Sioux Falls Roosevelt’s Tyler Howard and Brookings’ Tyler Nagy on the first team, as voted by the South Dakota Coaches Association and the South Dakota Sportswriters Association. Heiser, Severyn and Hanson are the only players on the team with previous all-state honors.    Jeremiah Clark of Sioux Falls Roosevelt heads up the second team along with Rapid City Stevens’ Steven Schaefer, Sioux Falls O’Gorman’s Kyle Scholten, Huron’s Justin Decker and Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Adam Jaros and Nermin Krzaldic.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment