Class A All State Basketball Team Named Today




WATERTOWN, S.D. (AP) – Skylar Flatten was the leader of a Clark-Willow Lake team that was No. 1-rated much of the year and capped a 23-1 season by winning the consolation championship in the 2013 state Class A boys basketball tournament.  For his efforts, he earned repeat first-team honors on the Class A Boys All-State basketball team picked by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association and the South Dakota Sportswriters Association.  The 6-foot-5 senior is taking his talents to South Dakota State University after a stellar high school career that included 1,686 points and 436 rebounds in 90 games for the Cyclones.  Flatten, who averaged 22.4 points and 5.7 rebounds per game this past season, is joined on the All-State first team by fellow seniors Jordan Baker of Sioux Falls Christian, Bryce Koch of Dell Rapids, Lincoln Swenson of Deuel and Brock Zeller of Elk Point-Jefferson.  Dell Rapids Cole Langer is a member of the All-State second team that includes senior Connor Shaull of state runner-up Tea Area, senior Blake Van Ginkel of Dakota Valley, junior Jordan Cornelius of Sisseton and junior Cody Willett of Canton. Langer, a senior, was a first-team honoree in 2012.  Third-team selections are seniors Anthony Hopkins of Little Wound, Mitchel Foster of Flandreau, Brandon Kemp of Spearfish, Austin Krier of Vermillion and Kory Schwan of Aberdeen Roncalli.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment