Stanley County to Join Class B For Next Two Years

sdhaa logo



PIERRE, S.D. – Stanley County will be a Class B team for the next two years as the South Dakota High School Activities Association finalized basketball alignments at a meeting Wednesday in Pierre.  But Stanley County will not be in a district with Sully Buttes, Highmore-Harrold, Lower Brule and Sunshine Bible Academy as was proposed by the Activities Associaton staff.  Instead, Stanley County will head south and be a member of District 13B in Region 7.  The Buffalos will join Jones County, Lyman, White River, Kadoka and Crazy Horse in the 6 team district.  Hitchcock-Tulare will move into the District with Sully Buttes, Higmore-Harrold, Lower Brule and Sunshine Bible Academy which will make up District 4B.  They will combine with District 3B to make up Region 2B.  District 3B will consist of Potter County, Ipswich, Herreid-Selby, Eureka-Bowdle, Faulkton and Edmunds Central.  In Class A, District have been done away with and there are 8 Regions.  The 6 teams in Region 6A will consist of Chamberlain, Cheyenne Eagle Butte, Crow Creek, Miller, Mobridge-Pollock and Winner.  In Class AA, Pierre remains in District 3AA with Aberdeen Central, Huron and Mitchell.  But the Big School Class in South Dakota Sports will increase by two teams and will have a total of 18 teams in the Class and a pair of 5 team districts.  Harrisburg will join District 2AA and Spearfish will re-join District 4AA.  All of the District and Region alignments can be viewed on the High School Activities Association website

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment