Delegates Pick President, VP of SD Farmers Union

SD Farmers Union Logo


WATERTOWN, S.D. (AP) – Farmers from the Conde and Lake Preston areas have been elected to lead the South Dakota Farmers Union.
KWAT radio reports that Doug Sombke of the Conde area was re-elected as president of the Farmers Union on Saturday during the 98th annual state convention held in Aberdeen.
Wayne Soren, a Lake Preston-area farmer, was elected vice president of the organization.
Sombke has been president of the Huron-based statewide organization since 2005. He’ll serve a two-year term.
Soren was appointed to the position of vice president in 2011 after former vice president Larry Birgen of Beresford resigned to take a position with the state Farm Service Agency Committee. Soren will also serve a two-year term.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment