Tourism Leaders Recognized at Thursday Awards Event

Cacklin Community Award Courtesy of Tourism Department


PIERRE, S.D. – (DRG News) Awards were presented yesterday to top visitor industry leaders and organizations as part of last night’s banquet at the 2013 South Dakota Governor’s Conference on Tourism in Pierre.  The awards were given out by Governor Dennis Daugaard and the South Dakota Department of Tourism.  Of local recipients, Department of Tourism senior photographer Chad Coppess received the A.H. Pankow Award.  The honor is for a media outlet or individual member of the media for their coverage and promotion of the state’s visitor industry.  The Rooster Rush Cacklin’ Community Award was given to the communities of Pierre/Fort Pierre.  Last year marked the fourth successful year of the statewide Rooster Rush fall hunting promotions and as part of the campaign, local Pierre and Fort Pierre businesses hosted welcome hunter receptions, more than 40 businesses decorated their storefronts, and one local car dealer sponsored a Best Pheasant Recipe Cook-off.  The Governor said that the Pierre Convention and Visitors Bureau’s creative thinking helped bring South Dakota to the visitor and promoted travel to South Dakota across theU.S.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment