2013 to Bring More Statues to Pierre’s Trail of Governors

Trail of Governors Logo


PIERRE, S.D. – (DRG News) Organizers with the Trail of Governors Foundation have laid out plans for 2013, as the first three life-sized statues were completed last year-and two of those have already been placed along a designated trail in Pierre.  The first statues to be put in place in 2012 honored Governor Harlan J. Bushfield and Governor Walter D. Miller.  The other statue that is done-that of Governor Arthur C. Mellette-will be placed on the grounds of the Hughes County Courthouse this year, once landscaping work at the future statue site is complete.  Bushfield’s statue is at the corner of Pierre Street and Sioux Avenue and Miller’s statue holds his ranch’s branding iron and is located at the corner of Highland and Capitol Avenues.

The Trail of Governors Foundation has commissioned a second round of statues and will erect the newest tributes later this year.  The 2013 bronzes will honor Governor Frank Farrar, Governor William J. Janklow and Governor Harvey L. Wollman.

All but two of the first six statues in the project’s timeline are fully funded.  Eleven of 32 total governors have received pledges, with five having received full funding in donations or pledges.  Funds are needed beyond the base cost of $68,000 per statue to pay for ongoing maintenance and related expenses.  Those who give $17,000 or more for a statue receive acknowledgement of the gift on that statue’s plaque.

The South Dakota artists creating the statues that are part of the Trail of Governors are John Lopez, James Michael Maher, Lee Leuning and Sherri Treeby.

The proposed timeline in the next few years for statues along the Trail of Governors will bring Charles Sheldon, George S. Mickelson and M. Michael Rounds in 2014;  Charles Herreid, George T. Mickelson and Richard Kneip in 2015.  Current Governor Dennis Daugaard’s statue is scheduled to be placed in 2022.  For more information on project updates and the rest of the timeline, visit www.TrailofGovernors.com.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of DakotaRadioGroup.com are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by DakotaRadioGroup.com.

Leave a Comment