Governor Wrestlers Capture Rapid City Tournament Title

Governors Logo



 RAPID CITY, S.D. – The defending State Class A Wrestling champion Pierre Governors won the Rapid City Invitational wrestling tournament that wrapped up Saturday in Rapid City. The Governors, who finished runner up to Gillette, Wyo. last year, scored 215.30 and claimed a 35 point win over runner up Rapid City Central. Gillette finished 3rd in the team standings. Philip also wrestled in the tournament and finished 6th. The Governors had 3 individual champions in the tournament as Tanner Monfore won the 132 lb. division. Trey Maier won the 195 lb. weight division and Dylan Bennett won the 285 lb. division. The championship was the first Rapid City tournament title in Governor Wrestling history. The Govs return to ESD dual action Tuesday when they host Brookings at Riggs High Gym. Pierre is 5-0 on the season in duals and 1-0 in ESD Conference duals.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment