Spirit of Dakota Committee Announces Nominees-Award Banquet October 6

Spirit of Dakota Award


HURON, S.D. – (DRG News) Fifteen outstanding women have been nominated by communities around the state to be honored at the Spirit of Dakota’s 26th Anniversary Celebration and Award Banquet next month. Five of the nominees are from central and western South Dakota. They include Irean Jordon of Faith, Gayle Kocer of Martin, Irma LeFaive of Fort Pierre, Margie Peters of Murdo and Margaret Smith Pier of Pierre. Other nominees hail from Springfield, Watertown, Rapid City, Scotland, Yankton, Wilmot, Britton and Iroquois. South Dakota’s premier woman’s award will be given out Saturday, October 6 at the Huron Event Center. The award is given to a woman who has shown vision, courage and strength of character in the development of her family, community and state. All 15 women will be recognized during activities planned on the 6th. The winner of the award will get an individually created framed bronze oval with the pioneer woman sculpted by Dale Lamphere and modeled after his nine foot sculpture that stands outside Huron’s Crossroads Hotel. All of the nominees will each have their picture taken with the statue, plus will receive a corsage featuring a Spirit of Dakota pin and a booklet of her nomination. Millie Humphrey of Whitewood was the 2011 Spirit of Dakota winner.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of DakotaRadioGroup.com are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by DakotaRadioGroup.com.

Leave a Comment