Governor and Lady Governors Open Cross Country Season

Governors Logo



 PIERRE, S.D. – The Pierre Governor Cross Country squad started the season today hosting a triangular with Rapid City Central and Aberdeen Central at Hillsview Golf Course. No team points were kept. In the boys varsity division, Pierre had the top 3 finishers as Matt Monfore won the meet running the 4000 meter course in a time of 13:35.5. Steven Gordwon was second with a time of 14:09.3 and Jebben Keyes had a third place finish with a time of 14:20.06. Chris Rumrill finished 9th in a time of 15:23.4 and Caleb McKinney had a 11th place finish in a time of 15:36.8. In the varsity girls division, Lady Governor Rachel Propst ran away from the field winning in a time of 15:26, almost a full minute ahead of runner up Adeline Straatmeyer of Rapid City Central. Sarah Polak was the only other Lady Gov who finished in the top 10. She had a 6th place finish in a time of 16:56.5. Aspen Iverson finished 11th in a time of 17:53.4. Courtney Brandt was 13th in a time of 18:38.4. Allison Meintsma was 14th in a time of 18:45.5 and Jory Mullen was 16th in a time of 19:01.5. In the JV Division, Wyatt Rumrill won the boys followed by Micah Howard, Jack Wollman and Ryan Sheldon. In the JV girls division, Hannah Schaffer of Pierre finished second for the highest Lady Gov finish behind winner Shacey Burgess of Rapid City Central. The Governor and Lady Governor Cross Country runners travel to Brandon on Thursday to run in the Brandon Invitational.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment