Primary Election Results Are In For North Central South Dakota

Vote Button


Mobridge, S.D. (DRG News) The results for Tuesday’s Primary election are in for North Central South Dakota with only 21.1% voter turn-out according to South Dakota Secretary of State Jason Gant. The Walworth County Commissioner race was as close as it could be with Richard Godkin holding on to a 1 vote win over James Spirey 36 to 35. With that close of a vote, Walworth County Auditor Gwenn Ackerman says that a recount is likely. Potter County States Attorney race for Republican nominee had Craig Smith victorious with 58% of the vote, Sarah Larson received 37% and Joan Powell  got 4.6%. Republican nominee for Potter County Commissioner will go to William Arbach with 55% of votes, opponent Jesse Zweber received 45%. Potter County also had a vote for a Tax Levy Opt-Out for Potter County General Fund for Road Purposes Opt-Out. The people voted 66% no to the opt-out. The Republican candidate for McPherson County Commissioner had James Schumacher winning with 71% of the vote versus Collin Hoffman’s 29%. The Dewey County Auditor Democratic candidate went to Kyrie Lemburg with 79% of the vote compared to her opponent Lisa Plummer who received 21%. The republican nominee for Campbell County Commissioner will be Scott Rau with 63% of the vote versus Leroy Sandmeiers 37%.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment