Nominations Being Sought for Spirit of Dakota Award

Spirit of Dakota Award


HURON, S.D. – (DRG News) Nominations are being sought for the 26th anniversary award presentation of the Spirit of Dakota Award. The winner will be announced at a banquet in Huron on October 6. The society has highlighted and hosted outstanding women from all across the state for more than 25 years. Eleven members of a selection commission will choose this year’s Spirit of Dakota Award winner include First Lady Linda Daugaard, Julie Garreau of Eagle Butte, Marsha Sumpter of Kadoka and Bette Poppen of DeSmet. The award is given to an outstanding South Dakota woman who has shown vision, courage and strength in character and who has made a significant contribution to the quality of life in her community and state. The 2011 award winner was Millie Humphrey of Whitewood. Other recipients have been community leaders in business, government and civic organizations. Nomination forms are available by contacting the Huron Area Chamber of Commerce at 1-800-487-6673 or online at

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment