Governor/Lady Gov Track Teams hand out Season Ending Awards

Pierre Logo



PIERRE, S.D. – The Pierre Governor and Lady Governor Track and Field teams met for the final time at their annual Post Season Awards Picnic late last week.  Conner Berg and Joe Snyder, both seniors, were named the MVP’s of the Governors boys squad after Berg won an ESD Championship in the High Jump and Snyder placed in two events at the State Track and Field Meet.  Rachel Propst was named the MVP of the Lady Govs after winning two state championships at last weekends State Track and Field meet the ESD meet where she set two new school records in the 1600 and 3200 meter runs.  8th grader Courtney Dowling won the Up and Coming Award for the Lady Govs while Riley Sears was the winner of the award for the Governors squad.  Anna Bondy, Sydney Palmer and Shay Reinke were give give Most Improved Awards from the Governor and Lady Governor coaching staff and Eileen Leong and Steven Gordon recieved the PIG Award given to a member of each squad that emphasizes sacrifice and selflessness for the good of the team.  Joe Tetzlaff, Nate Buscher, Tyler Propst, Ashley Zimmerman and Snyder earned Academic All-State honors for the other award winners on the night.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment