Girls and Women in Sports Banquet set for Saturday in Mitchell

sdhaa logo



SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The nineteenth annual South Dakota Girls and Women in Sport Awards Banquet will be held Saturday beginning at 6:00 p.m., in Mitchell at the Ramada Inn.  Fifty-five high school female athletes throughout South Dakota will be honored for their outstanding high school careers both “on and off” the playing field. From this group, fifteen of them will be recognized as one of the “ELITE 15″.   Representing the past Elite 15 award winners for the evening will be Jill Theeler Schlekeway, Mitchell High School standout and former Associate Athletic Director for Compliance/Senior Woman Administrator at the University of South Dakota.  In addition, the SD Girls and Women in Sports Leadership Award winners will be honored.  This year’s winners are Rose DuBois of Rapid City, Pam Hoiland of Sioux Falls, Ron Nelson of Parker, Jill Christensen of Parker, Jennifer Forseth of Sioux Falls, Ginger Larsen of Yankton, Ronda Rinehart of Freeman, Carmen Robinson of Yankton, and Lori Warne of Sioux Falls.   The SD Officials Leadership Award is presented annually at the SD Girls and Women in Sports/Elite 15 Banquet.  This year’s recipients of this award are Ellen Steever of Lennox and Kim Weed of Sioux Falls.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment