Winter Coach of the Year Winners from State Coaches Association

Generic Sports Logo



SIOUX FALLS – South Dakota’s all-time winningest girls’ basketball coach Rob Van Laecken of Parkston highlights the 2012 winter Coach of the Year award winners, announced by the South Dakota High School Coaches Association. Van Laecken passed Fred Tibbetts on the career wins list last season and guided the Lady Trojans to a Class A state tournament runner-up finish. Among the other winners are Pierre’s Ryan Noyes (wrestling). Watertown’s Vicky Fischer (gymnastics), Sioux Falls O’Gorman’s Derek Robey (boys’ basketball), Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Jim Dorman (athletic director) and Dimock’s Dan Sudbeck (official).  The winners will be recognized at the annual awards banquet in Aberdeen on Wednesday, July 18, in conjunction with the summer coaches’ clinic.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment