Redfield Students Honored with “Saved by the Belt” Awards Friday

Governor Daugaard Gives Saved by the Belt Awards


PIERRE, S.D. – (DRG News) Five Redfield High School students were given “Saved by the Belt” awards last Friday by Governor Dennis Daugaard. The students were nominated for the honor by the South Dakota Highway Patrol. They were wearing seatbelts during a two-vehicle crash that occurred April 13 between Redfield and Aberdeen. The students came away from the accident with only minor injuries. Governor Daugaard handed out the awards Friday at the Capitol. He told the five that they can be great examples to others their age. Colonel Craig Price, Superintendent of the Highway Patrol was also present at Friday’s awards event and said he thinks that promoting the “Saved by the Belt” awards helps bring attention to the importance of seatbelt use.

Price says it’s good to see safety awards going to younger drivers-and hopes that other teen drivers pay attention to the importance of seatbelt use.

Price says besides the “Saved by the Belt” awards, the patrol will be working to bring attention to motorists that follow laws and drive safely in other ways.

Receiving the awards Friday were Megan Voegele, Holly Anderson, Haley Franz, Cassondra Byrum and Erin Hoaas, all of Redfield. Voegele was driving and the other four teens were passengers in a vehicle that was in a two vehicle crash on Highway 281 last month. Since they had their seatbelts on and their injuries were minor, all five were able to attend the Redfield prom on the evening of the crash.

Governor Dennis Daugaard stands with five Redfield High School students for photos after awarding them "Saved by the Belt" awards on Friday.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment