Hall of Fame Names New Inductees

SD Hall Logo


CHAMBERLAIN, S.D. – (DRG News) The South Dakota Hall of Fame announced its 2012 honorees yesterday. The annual Honors Event at the Hall of Fame in Chamberlain/Oacoma will be held September 7 and 8. The ten inducted this year are being added in categories ranging from Professional, to Arts and Entertainment, Historical, Sports and General. Honorees this year include:
*A husband and wife; Stephen Myers, a Pierre native who is now of Sioux Falls and Mary Lynn Myers. Stephen Myers retired in 2005 as the State Investment Officer for South Dakota. Mary Lynn Myers worked in state government in Pierre in the 1970’s as Director of the SD Division of Human Rights and has served with several state and local organizations.
*James Abourezk of Sioux Falls who was born in Wood served South Dakota in Congress in the 1970’s.
*Brigadier General Myrna Hennrich Williamson of Springfield, Virginia. She is a Gregory High School graduate and retired in 1989 as a senior ranking woman in the United States Army.
*Carv Thompson, a longtime Faith resident who has been a tireless promoter of the community. Most recently, he headed a committee that raised over a million dollars for the new Faith School.
Other honorees are Larry Ness of Yankton, Mary Olinger of Sioux Falls, Dr. Richard Gowen of Rapid City, Don Meyer of Aberdeen, and Gene Lebrun of Rapid City.
The South Dakota Hall of Fame was established in 1974 and over the years has recognized more than 600 South Dakotans. It honors pioneers and outstanding leaders who have contributed to the development and heritage of South Dakota. Visit www.sdhalloffame.com.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of DakotaRadioGroup.com are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by DakotaRadioGroup.com.

Leave a Comment