NSIC to Add Swimming to List of Competitive Sports



                                           BURNSVILLE, Minn. (NSIC News Release) – Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Commissioner Butch Raymond has announced that women’s swimming & diving will be added as the league’s 18th championship sport. The NSIC will add women’s swimming and diving for the 2012-13 academic year, with the championship taking place February 7-10, 2013 in Rochester, Minn.  Of the 16 institutions in the NSIC four will sponsor women’s swimming and diving. Minnesota State University, Mankato; Minnesota State University Moorhead; Northern State University and St. Cloud State University will compete along with two associated members from the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA); Lindenwood University of St. Charles, Mo. and the University of Nebraska at Kearney.  The NSIC Swimming & Diving Championship will be hosted by the Rochester Amateur Sports Commission and take place at the Rochester Recreation Center, which is the home of one of only two 50 meter Olympic-size pools in the state of Minnesota. As of July 1, 2012 the NSIC will be a 16-team, 18-sport, NCAA Division II conference with teams located in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of DakotaRadioGroup.com are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by DakotaRadioGroup.com.

Leave a Comment