State A All State Girls Basketball Team named Today



                      Two years after a back injury forced her to miss her entire sophomore season, Caitlin Duffy stormed back to become one of the state’s most prolific players.
Not only did she develop into a Division I recruit, the senior helped St. Thomas More to its first girls’ state basketball championship this season.  For those efforts, Duffy has been named to the Class A girls’ All-State first team, released today by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association and the State Basketball Coaches Association.  Joining Duffy on the first team are Parkston senior Marie Malloy, Elkton-Lake Benton senior Cassidy Gebhart, Wagner senior Devon Brecke and Clark-Willow Lake junior Chynna Stevens. Duffy and Brecke are repeat first-team selections from a year ago, while Malloy, Gebhart and Stevens all vaulted from third-team honors in 2011.  Named to the All-State second team are seniors Alison Klostergaard (Beresford), Alexis Watts (Miller) and Jordyn Kirk (Sisseton), as well as juniors Morgan Forsch (Baltic) and Jolonna Sazue (Crow Creek).  Members of the third team include seniors Raquel Sutera (Bon Homme), Lane Halligan (Todd County) and Kelly Amundson (Vermillion). Tri-Valley junior Allison Cross was honored as was Elk Point-Jefferson sophomore Keely Bertram.

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Leave a Comment